Our pastor’s sermon on Sunday was taken from Psalm 90 about God being our habitation. It was written by Moses who left the comforts of Pharoah’s palace in order to be identified with God’s afflicted people, leading them to freedom in the desert. Moses found his rest in God no matter what his outward circumstances in life were. Home is where we find protection, comfort, acceptance, sustenance and love.
Our God, our help in ages past,
Our hope for years to come,
Our shelter from the stormy blast,
And our eternal home.

Under the shadow of Thy throne
Thy saints have dwelt secure;
Sufficient is Thine arm alone,
And our defense is sure.

When I grew up in NJ, we lived in suburbia outside of Philadelphia. We moved to Virginia when I was sixteen and lived in my Grandmother’s big Victorian home. My parents bought a farm with an old farmhouse in another county where we loved to spend many weekends. It was pretty primitive staying there, like camping out, but we loved it.  We heated a couple of rooms with wood stoves.  In the summer we used outdoor showers my father rigged using 55 gal. barrels.  He put a sink in the kitchen so we had running cold water. My older sister, Anne, and another friend of the family named Linda and I stayed out there one winter.  My dad cut most of our firewood when he came out, but my sister knew how to work an electric chainsaw.  We all learned to split wood. Our bedrooms were not heated.  I remember that my glass of water sometimes froze solid in the night. We slept under electric blankets with our hats on and could see our breath in the room. We would sleep in our long johns then make a wild dash to the heated rooms in the morning to get dressed. It was a real treat when we went to town to take hot baths.

One fall, my home was our International Scout.  My husband Bill and I traveled around looking for land in both Virginia and West Virginia, camping out as we went. We had a Coleman stove and a cooler. Bill built shelves into the back of the Scout where we stored our food, pots and pans, water and other supplies. We had a 3/4 sized mattress that fit in the back. We had to put the tailgate down at night for the mattress to lie flat. We both had to sleep on our sides but since we were both thin in those days, it worked out fine. We found our land and spent that winter in an apartment. We moved to our land in May and planted a garden.  We had bought a tipi and my husband found some straight poles for the supports and he carved them to make them smooth. We would lie in bed and watch the stars and the moon through the smoke flaps and could listen to the creek running outside not far from the tipi.  He would wake up first and start the Coleman stove to heat water for coffee or if it was cold, he’d make a fire in the center of the tipi and would hold my boots over the fire to get them warm for me.  We stayed in the tipi that summer and fall while he worked on building our two room cabin.  We moved into the cabin around Christmas. He built on more rooms with a kitchen and two bathrooms in the following years after I was pregnant with our first son.

We’re snowed in today so I didn’t go to work.  It’s in the 20’s and we have about eight inches of snow on the ground.  Bill has been carrying in armfuls of wood and feeding the fires in three wood stoves to keep us warm.  Our dog Rosa likes to sleep by the fire.

We’ve been cutting back on eating sweets except on weekends. I decided to make some cinnamon rolls today.  The rolls baking made the house smell so good and the rolls were delicious.  Tonight I have been trying to make some order of the boys’ old room which is piled up with clothes and baby things people have so generously given us.  I sorted through the clothes by sizes and put them in boxes thinking of the day (not too long from now) when this tiny person Dv. will be sharing our home with us.  It’s so nice to be snowed in and to think about home.

