I know I have been greatly neglecting my participation in this blog for some time.  So, I thought I would share with you a quick home remedy that we have come across.

My husband, Ben, has been having some trouble with moderately high blood pressure over about the last two years.  He hasn’t gone to the doctor for it, but has kept tabs on it himself by taking his blood pressure at local drug store machines.  He was having more frequent headaches and sometimes swelling and irritability.  Neither of us is big on pharmacueticals and prefer to use more natural methods of preventing or healing sickness.  But, we couldn’t figure out what was going on.  We try to eat as healthy as possible.  I make most things from scratch.  We try to avoid artificial ingredients.

One day I finally recalled that some years ago, when Ben ended up going to the E.R. for chest pains and difficulty breathing, one of the staff at the E.R. mentioned that his potassium was a little low.  But, since the doctors also sent him in for further cardiac testing, we never really considered the potassium issue very much afterwards.

Also, another time when I was having some trouble with swelling during pregnancy a friend mentioned that I should eat a banana.  There was something about the potassium in the banana that would help you flush excess salt and thus reduce the water retention.  I tried it and it worked.  Since high salt levels can elevate blood pressure, I started to wonder if maybe part of Ben’s problem was that he wasn’t processing his salt properly.

Anyway, to make a long story short, I told Ben about my suspicions and he graciously submitted to my proposed experiment with his health.  :-) I gave him a banana every day to take to work with his lunch.  After about two weeks of a banana every day, I asked him if he would go out and check his blood pressure to see if there had been any change so far.  He did. And when he came back he had good news.  He was safely back in the normal range!

Everyone has heard that an apple a day, keeps the doctor away.  But, what about a banana?

