You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 30, 2009.

August-October 2009 038
This is just a quick post to share with you my method of preparing herbal teas in a bulk form versus one cup at a time. I find this useful when my son is having allergy problems and I know he will need to be drinking his tea for a few days, or when I have multiple sick ones in the house. I begin by getting out the necessary dry herbs that I will be using, which will vary depending on the cause for use of the herbs. Next, I place the desired herbs into a mixing bowl or other large vessel making sure to use enough herbs to make a whole pitcher.

August-October 2009 040

Then I boil my water using a full teapot. While the water is boiling, I get out the pitcher that will hold the herbs after they have steeped. I place a large strainer over the mouth of the pitcher to catch the herbs so that only the tea ends up in the pitcher. When the water is ready, pour contents of teapot into mixing bowl with the herb mixture in it. Let steep for the necessary amount of time and then pour contents of mixing bowl into the prepared pitcher.

August-October 2009 042

Next, you would add some sweetening agent if desired. We usually add a little honey or stevia since sugar tends to slow down the immune system. Then whenever a cup is needed, simply pour into a cup and enjoy!

August-October 2009 045

The events in this blog happened in May of this year. I am republishing them here from my blog because a similar thing has happened to us recently, which reminded me of God’s gracious provision and the blessing that brethren can and should be to one another.

One of the amazing blessings I have observed over the years is the way the Lord provides for his people…. sometimes in the most unexpected ways! We’ve all heard stories of money/ food /clothing, desperately needed, turning up, seemingly out of the blue. “Our God shall supply all our needs…”

This week, we had one such chain of events, though minor, which reminded us of God’s gracious provision for us and the way he attends to even the least of our needs. And how our good deeds and blessings are “paid forward”, so to speak.

A friendly neighbour, who often drops in home grown produce, sent a pile of pineapples over early in the day, which we really appreciated and we decided to pass them around.

Now some elderly friends have been really struggling with poor health, adult children and grandchildren problems and generally coping with everything. When hubby returned from a visit there in the morning he suggested I go over to help in the afternoon. I took our (already prepared) chicken casserole dinner over, both of us feeling we could manage without it that night and have a “scratch” tea. I spent a lovely few hours both doing chores and visiting. What a blessing these aged saints are and have been to us. I came home refreshed, though concerned for their plight.

We ate our basic evening meal and I was surprised as I did the dishes to receive a call from a dear friend. Could they call round briefly? Of course, that would be lovely! (But secretly I’m thinking – this is unusual?) Now these friends have had a very difficult year. Hubby, who is self employed, has been off work for 4 months, had an operation, and will be off a few months yet. I was wondering, are they okay?

When they arrived they came bearing several kilos of steak, sausages and mince!!

During their period of hardship many have given “care packages” to their large family and this day they had been generously given a large meat order. They in turn felt led to share some of this bounty with us!!
Marvellous provision indeed!
And we’ve all really enjoyed the pineapples!

It’s that time of the year again! The Lord has blessed our garden and we have a small pile of pumpkins from the garden to enjoy.  Tonight I’m going to make a pumpkin pie, but many of the others are destined to become pumpkin cakes and pumpkin bread.  My mother-in- law gave me this cake recipe and it’s one of our family favorites.  It’s best if you wait a day before serving.  Serve chilled.

2 cups sugar

4 eggs

1 cup oil

2 cups pumpkin  (or a 1 lb can)

Mix these together. Add in oil.  Mix on medium speed for 3 minutes.

In separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.

2 cups flour

2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp baking soda*

1/2 tsp salt

Blend the dry ingredients with the wet ones. Pour into a greased and floured cake pan. Bake at 350 for 45 mins. Cool on wire rack.

Icing:

2 TBSP melted butter

8 oz pack of Philadelphia Cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla

1 cup confectioners sugar

Add icing when cake is cool.

Keep in refrigerator covered with plastic wrap.

I have to do mine a little differently because I’m working with the fresh pumpkins.  Cut pumpkin in half. Clean out the seeds and bake for 30 mins at 350. I put mine  in a cake pan with water in the bottom. When you can stick a fork in it easily, it’s done.  Cool then scoop out the pumpkin and measure 2 cups. Puree in blender with the oil and eggs. Mix with the sugar and other  ingredients.

 

* There is no baking powder in this recipe, only baking soda.

October 2009
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other subscribers